7-B-1 Paperless Classes

How would a paperless class change your role as a teacher?

I think a paperless class would completely turn my role as teacher upside down.  I don’t completely rely on worksheets and handouts in my classroom, but they are definitely a resource that I use every day.  To move completely to a paperless class, and have all information available to my students online, would completely change the way that I teach.  My role would shift to one of giving my students directions as to how to search for class information online, and use it to complete their assignments instead of me giving directions to worksheets that are a part of each lesson.  As a teacher of 2nd graders, a paperless class certainly would not make my job easy, but I think that there could be some positives (and negatives) to stepping away from our “paper trail.”

How would paperless classes change learning?

As mentioned above, I think paperless classes would change the way our students would need to approach their learning.  Before they could learn new information and apply it, they would need to learn to use the technology available to them, and know how to use it to enhance their learning.  Learning would certainly become more interactive, and would expect a different way of thinking and learning from the students.  Also, I think it would be a major shift in the parental involvement in their students’ education.  Parents are used to looking at worksheets coming home to see what their children are learning each day.  Now they would be required to use technology to explore what their students are learning, how they are gathering their information, and showing what they know each day.

How would you measure learning in a paperless classroom?

Assessment in a paperless classroom would certainly require a new way of monitoring our students.  Instead of looking at papers completed by our students, we would have to monitor their checking in online, and how they are able to navigate through the information provided to them and use it to complete what is assigned to them.  I am one that likes to have a paper copy of everything in front of me.  I like to be able to hold something, write on it, and make corrections as needed.  Measuring my students learning would certainly be a big adjustment for myself and my students as well.

Would a paperless space make it easier or harder to build a learning network? Why?

Based on the grade level that I teach, I truly feel that a paperless space would make it harder to build a learning network.  When using all online resources for primary aged children, there are a lot of loopholes that arise.  Although my students amaze me every day with how well they work with technology, I think relying single handedly on it for their learning could be complicated at times.  I feel that often times students at their level need to have a paper visual in front of them, or be able to actually write down the information they are learning for it to really be beneficial for them.  I wouldn’t be surprised if someday down the road our classrooms become completely paperless, but as of right now I feel that my students are benefiting the most by being somewhat paper based and using technology as an enhancer not as the only means to which they learn.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

